Art & Newport

We worked with a number of local Newport art vendors, everyday was different. I was blown away with the art scene in Newport. I loved visiting their studios and hearing their stories, with their thick New England accents. From Rusty’s yard of shipwrecks to Ken’s totem-pole stacks to Chris’ collection of twigs for furniture, I couldn’t help but snap a few photos for myself.

One vendor that especially stuck out was The John Stevens Shop, the oldest continually operating businesses in the United States. They have been carving stones for more than 300 years, and were involved in the Vietnam Memorial. I had the honor of meeting John Benson himself, ‘Fud’ – I could’ve listened to him for hours. His stone cutting workshop was one of the most beautiful and surprisingly delicate I’d ever seen.

This entry was posted in FILM + PROPS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

